Existing Users: Because of an update to the forum software you will need to reset your password. Please use the "Forgot?" link on the sign in form to do so. If that doesn't work, send me an email at feedback@forzaminardi.com and I'll sort you out!

Gimmi on Stoddie

Good article in Autosport on Gimmi in GP2. Revive career, that sort of thing, then they talk about Zsolt's superior finishing record - Indy, obviously, and regularly finishing in the top ten - Gimmi no higher than 14. Zsolt out-qualified Gimmi five times.

Gimmi talks about 'parking' the car at Indy:
'Paul Stoddart said that if I was racing, I would have got a point, but on the first lap I had an accident with Heidfeld at the first corner and that broke my front suspension. I tried ten times to get back but I couldn't because the steering was pulling left. The only thing I could do was switch off and walk back. I couldn't have done anything else. I'm a driver. I want to do the best and I want to have the best result. I tried to get back but I couldn't, it's clear'.

Gimmi also says things turned worse when Stoddart took over radio duties following the death of John Walton:
'It was very difficult. We lost a very important person. He was the best guy there. When we lost him before Silverstone Paul had to do the radio and call the blue flags. For him it was the first time so it was difficult. Sometimes Paul would talk during high-speed turns. It was hard because he didn't know where I was because he didn't have the experience. Sometimes, when I was fighting with Pantano I would lose a position because Paul was on the radio and he didn't understand the situation with the flags'.

##

Well ... obviously drivers always blame everyone but themselves but I do have some sympathy for him. Not the last bit though - if you're fighting for position you block out all else.
Gimmi also confirms the importance of John Boy.

Comments